Can I still move, no custody order but mediation set

I am trying to move from Mitchell County NC to Raleigh NC where I am from and lived my whole life except last 5 years. I have a 16 year old son that lives there and many old friends. I still have family in Mitchell County and will still visit and allow my 3 year old son to visit his father.
My question: My childs father and I were never married. He was not involved in his life the first 1.5 years. Without a custody order I let my son visit his dad until I found out without a custody agreement he could keep him, meaning who ever has him has physical custody, he has not seen my son since October except when I invited him to t-ball games. I am on temp disability for mental illness and have been stable for several years. I have a social work degree from NCSU. Also, I was sexually assaulted 3 weeks ago (police report) and want to move home to Raleigh as one of the reasons and there are more opportunites in Raleigh, better schools, etc. one issues is I have HUD, Housing Assistance and to transfer it to Raleigh I have to give a 60 day notice which I did on 7/11. 2 days later I got a summons from sons father attorney for mediation, that he filed on 7/5. we have the video session mediation on 8/4 my sons 4th birthday. He is asking for some custody or visitation in Civil Action, initial filing, complaint.
My question is…at what point can I NOT move? When is the point I am stuck in this county? Discussing this with my childs father will not work because he will make a legal order for me not to be able to leave. I probably won’t be able to leave Mitchell County until my HUD lease ends around Sept. 11th. I am scared I won’t be able to put off this actual mediation and then court date if we don’t agree, until mid Sept. Should I just leave for Raleigh as soon as possible but struggle badly to even pay the high rent in Raleigh. PLEASE help me. I am scared and don’t know what to do. Stephanie Owens 828-242-5309.