CS Modification Request

Hi-

I went through a child support modification case recently. I’m by no means a tax expert but if his band is setup as a business with its own EIN he should be paying taxes on any earnings. As part of the child support modification, you both should have to provide w2 and tax information to the court. So you should be able to see his total earnings by his tax return.

By the way, if you just saw this courtdate on the CSE website I don’t think that is good enough. I think you have to be sent via certified mail a notice of the courtdate plus a request for your financial info to be submitted. That’s what I had to do anyway when i filed for child support to be modified.

I agree that finding out online should not be the case. He filed for a modification earlier this year and the same thing happened. I found out online. I called my case worker several times and I received the paperwork about three days before the court date. I arrived at court and the ex didn’t, so it was dismissed.

I recently moved to FL for a new job and now I have to drive all the way there, take my daughters out of school and who knows if he will show up.

Anyway, I thought they had to request all the financial information before the court date too, but that isn’t what happened earlier and isn’t happening now.

When I did my child support mod I filed on June 9. All paperwork was submitted for a courtdate and paperwork requesting all his financials including w2 and tax paperwork. Our courtdate was August 8. When we went to court my ex said his employer did not have time to get his w2/salary info together + he had not had time to talk to his lawyer (which was total bs). The judge continued our court date until September 11 but told the ex he had to provide me his financial no later than July 21 and not to come back in her courtroom without having provided me those financials.

So to answer your question: