Custody and Jurisdictional Issues

I am a resident of Maryland and have been for the past eight years. My children were also born here. My wife and I also resided here in Maryland from 2001 to 2006. My wife left me to return to North Carolina in August of 2006. She came back in September of that year, and ultimately left again in November of 2006. In April of 2007, here local department of social services contacted me about a child support order. My understanding was that she had to be a resident of the state for 6 months to claim status as a resident, but obviously that wasn’t the case. She claimed she had always been a NC resident. A child support order was instated shortly thereafter. As far as I know, NC does not have jurisdiction over me as none of the 7 or 8 circumstances that would have to have existed applied to me (I wasn’t SERVED in NC, I haven’t asserted paternity in any NC documents, I didn’t live in NC with my wife and children, etc.). Were my rights violated? In the grand scheme of things, I’m not really concerned about the kids getting support since they need it, but this whole situation reeked of a “rail-roading.” At the time of the order, I was preparing for a child custody case in Maryland, and I had reason to believe that I would get custody. My three year update period is approaching. Is there any chance that I could get this order, if not reduced, then thrown out on the basis of non-jurisdiction. To date, I have never appeared in an NC court for this case, and have never been served anything IN the state of NC.

Are the kids in NC right now? If the kids have been in NC for at least 6 months, then NC has jurisdiction over custody issues, as NC has jurisidiction over the kids.

As far as child support orders, would “the child at issue resides in this State as a result of the responding party’s actions” apply?