Divorce, custody and (fast) distribution of marital property

Do you think I will be able to get primary custody of my child based upon her mother’s lack of supervision?

• Yes
  • Not likely
  • No way

0 voters

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read and comment on my situation.

I have been a resident of NC for several years, have been separated for well over a year. I would like to file for divorce, primary custody of my child, and distribution of marital property.

There is one child, age 11, who has been living with her mother for the past year. The child does not receive proper adult supervision, is failing most classes in school, and the money I have paid monthly for child care has not been used for that purpose.

The martial residence is located in Guilford County, and is sitting vacant. I reside in Wake County, and the mother lives in Forsyth County.

There is no separation agreement in place outlining custody or child support. All current financial and custody arrangements have been the result of informal discussions and email.

My questions are as follows:

1. Can I file in Wake County? I meet the 6-month guideline for the state, but have not been a resident of Wake County for that period of time.

2. The marital house is now vacant and creating a financial hardship. The mortgage and deed are in both names, but my ex refuses to share the expense of preparing the house for sale, is not contributing to the mortgage or utilities, and will not sign a contract to list the house for sale. I cannot continue to make payments indefinitely. I would like to avoid foreclosure if at all possible. What does it mean to file an interim distribution? What complaints, motions, or other documents need to be filed to allow me to list and sell the house without interference from my ex? How quickly could I potentially get an order to list and sell the house? Can this be done pre-trial?