Greetings. Yes, your attorney is telling you the truth about the timing for the divorce. You file the divorce, serve the same (which usually takes about 5-10 days), then must wait 30 days. After the wait for 30 days, it takes about 15 - 20 days to get a hearing. This is the standard time process anywhere in NC. Sorry you are in a hurry, but just make sure that your attorney files everything correctly and it should not take any longer. Thank you.
Janet L. Fritts
Attorney with Rosen Divorce
4101 Lake Boone Trail, Suite 500
Raleigh, North Carolina 27607
919.787.6668 main phone
919.256.1665 direct fax
10925 David Taylor Drive, Suite 100
Charlotte, North Carolina 28262
704.644.2831 main voice
704.307.4595 main fax
The response posted above is based upon the limited factual information made available and is not intended as a full and complete response to the question. The only reliable manner to obtain complete and adequate legal advice is to consult with an attorney, fully explain your situation, and allow the attorney sufficient opportunity to research the applicable law and facts required to render an accurate opinion. The basic information provided above is intended as a public service but a full discussion with an attorney should be undertaken before taking any action.