Seperation Agreement-Binding Contract?

$46,000 AND $24,000 in back taxes??? From one year’s filing? That is a lot of money! Either they both made a LOT of money or they didn’t have any taxes withheld from their checks. Were they self-employed?

I would think if the judge made a decision, it’s binding unless you re-file and challenge it. BUT I’m not a lawyer, so hopefully one will advise you.

Thanks for the comment needinganswers. The taxes were due from my husband’s retirement fund. Per the seperation agreement his ex was entitled to a little over $89,000. He quit his job for about 3 months so that he could collect his money for two reasons 1- to pay her off and 2- to have money so he could live. After child support and the bills he was left with to pay, he had no money left to live on so I am told and was living with his mom. We had not met at that time. Anyway, supposedly she was going to put $50,000 into an educational IRA for their kids. Come tax time, they met with a CPA and she found out how much taxes would be due. She then decided to file on her own without claiming any of the monies. Our point to the judge was if she wanted that money free of tax then she should have put it into an IRA fund or something like that, but she used it as income. She admitted to the judge that she didnt have any of that money left. Sad to say, we are now paying taxes that are more than my husbands share of his retirement, beacause everyday we are incurring late fees and interest. His ex wife had the seperation papers drawn up and then they were incorporated into the divorce. We are still amazed how this is not a contempt of court order, but supposedly since she filed her taxes before the divorce was final, she was not in contempt. Now, we are looking at the angle of breach of contract for the seperation which was active at that time. any words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated. thanks.