Custody and Visitation

Now I’m a newbie but I think it would have to at the least be notarized for it to be enforced in court. Just the two signatures might not be enough but having it notarized could be. As far as him not returning the children, you could make an emergency motion to the courts since you have the primary physical custody of the kids, regardless of what any agreement says, the kids spend their time with you under your care but if he were to do anything like that, any psychological damage that could be done is done. I would be inclined to file for sole custody and use the custody agreement as evidence and let the judge make it all official. I’m not a lawyer, just somebody who is learning a lot about the laws the hard way so somebody else is probably has way more knowledge than I do. Thanks for all the advice I’ve gotten on here.
Denny Crane

1. A visitation agreement can give one party sole custody, however if this is not a court order either party can be free to return to court and try to modify the agreement.

2. Until there is something in writing there is no legal protection if he dos not return the children, if there are grounds you can seek an emergency custody order.

3. I cannot answer this without meeting with you and reviewing the specific facts of your agreement.

P.S. Please feel free to bring up this or any other topic on our live call-in show every Wednesday at 11:00 a.m. EST. Visit radio.rosen.com for details

Helena M. Nevicosi
Attorney with Rosen Law Firm

4101 Lake Boone Trail, Suite 500
Raleigh, North Carolina 27607
919.787.6668 main phone
919.787.6361 main fax

Charlotte Office
301 McCullough Drive
Suite 510
Charlotte, NC 28262
Main Phone: (704)307.4600
Main Fax: (704) 9343.0044

Sutton Station
5826 Fayetteville Rd. Suite 205
Durham, NC 27713
Phone: (919) 321-0780