Divorce in NC


#1

You can only sue for divorce in another state if one of you meets that other state’s residency requirements. For example, North Carolina requires at least one party to the divorce action to have resided in the state for 6 months prior to filing. Try this link to view a list of residency requirements in other states: http://public.findlaw.com/divorce/nolo/faq/385624DA-68B2-4B8D-9DED61F314C3560B.html

Lara Stanford Davis
Attorney
The Rosen Law Firm
4101 Lake Boone Trail, Suite 200
Raleigh, North Carolina 27607
NCdivorce.com
(919)787-6668

The response posted above is based upon the limited factual information made available and is not intended as a full and complete response to the question. The only reliable manner to obtain complete and adequate legal advice is to consult with an attorney, fully explain your situation, and allow the attorney sufficient opportunity to research the applicable law and facts required to render an accurate opinion. The basic information provided above is intended as a public service but a full discussion with an attorney should be undertaken before taking any action.


#2

If the husband and wife got married in NC and are both residents of NC is it possible to get a divorce in another state? NC has the law that you cannot get divorced for 1 year from point of seperation and that is like torture to some people so I was wondering if it could be done in another state? Thank you, Courtney