Domostice violence order


#1

The Protective Order goes into effect once the restrained party is served with a copy of the order.

If you are referring to the ex parte protective order, that is left in effect for ten days until the date of the return hearing.

When you go to the return hearing the judge can dismiss the ex parte order, or they can put the order in effect for up to one year.

We do not practice in Franklin County, you can contact Shawn McMullen in our office to see if she has any referrals to Franklin County.

Helena M. Nevicosi
Attorney with Rosen Law Firm

4101 Lake Boone Trail, Suite 500
Raleigh, North Carolina 27607
919.787.6668 main phone
919.787.6361 main fax

Charlotte Office
301 McCullough Drive
Suite 510
Charlotte, NC 28262
Main Phone: (704)307.4600
Main Fax: (704) 9343.0044

Durham & Chapel Hill Office
1829 East Franklin Street
Building 600
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
(919) 321.0780

ROSEN.COM

The response posted above is based upon the limited factual information made available and is not intended as a full and complete response to the question. The only reliable manner to obtain complete and adequate legal advice is to consult with an attorney, fully explain your situation, and allow the attorney sufficient opportunity to research the applicable law and facts required to render an accurate opinion. The basic information provided above is intended as a public service only, a full discussion with an attorney should be undertaken before taking any action. The information posted on this forum is available for public viewing and is not intended to create an attorney client relationship with any individual. These answers are provided for informational purposes only, a person should consult with their own individual legal counsel before taking any action that could affect their legal rights or obligations.


#2

What happens when the wife files the paperwork for a domestic violence protective order to go into effect against her husband?

What happens once the spouse is served the protective order?

Is there a time limit (i.e. 30 days, 90 days) on the domestic violence protective order?

How much does an attorney charge to do a separation agreement?

Can anyone suggest a good divorce attorney that charges a reasonable consultation fee? My court hearings would be held in Franklin County which is in North Carolina.