End of Child Support

My daughter, for whom I have been paying child support for many years, turns 18 in the middle of the month (a few months from now). She never formally graduated secondary school. Rather, she left high school early, attended community college, secured her GED, and is presently enrolled in a four-year degree program at a local university.

As directed by my “Permanent Order on Custody and Support,” on the first of each month I pay my child support by check to the “NC Child Support Centralized Collections” office. My case is a non-IV-D case, and Child Support Enforcement (CSE) is not involved. I am 100% current on my child support. WRT to the impending end of my child support obligation, I have a few questions I hope an attorney will answer.

1. For the final child support payment, must I pay the full amount, or may I make a pro-rated payment based on the number of days in the month before my daughter turns 18? The court order is silent on this point.

2. NCGS 50-13.4(c) describes the conditions under which child support terminates. Given that my daughter never formally “graduated” from high school, do I need to return to court on a “Motion to Terminate Child Support” (or something similar) and try to convince the judge to end my child support obligation? The court order does not specify a date on which my child support obligation ends.

3. If I do need to return to court on a “Motion to Terminate Child Support,” what is the earliest date I may file this motion?