Equitable Distribution Questions

My wife and I were married in the late 80s. She is in the financial services industry, has worked continuously, currently earns just over $300k with a new job, and has about $500K in her IRA. I am a teacher earning almost $50K, with about $120K in my IRA, and have taken some time off to care for the kids. We have one child in college and one in High School.
In the early 90s I inherited $250K of securities from my grandfather. We used some of this money to put the down payment on a home (in NY) in the early 90s. In 2002, we sold the home at a substantial profit. We now own a home in NC that we purchased in 2003 and may or may not be worth its original purchase price. I strongly urged her to sell before 2007 because her bonus pay had been dropping significantly and we were losing money. She refused to consider selling. Everything we have is in joint accounts (to my knowledge). My wife handles the finances. I am very concerned about the financial consequences of divorcing. I am I entitled to any of my inheritance? Do I just get the principle back or would I also be entitled to interest? Am I entitled to any additional money due to lost years of work experience and pension to care for my children? Will judges discriminate against me because I am in a gender role reversal? Thank you.

First, separate funds are those earned before the marriage, after the date of separation, gifts from someone other than your wife, or inherited. If you can prove that money is separate, it usually remains separate.