Greetings. Your fiance is still married? First, I would like to advise you to let him do this divorce research on his own to show his strong committment to getting married. Do not hold his hand and do this for him, or you will be setting yourself up to do everything for him throughout your marriage.
Next, yes you can do a divorce yourself and we have a page on our website under the forms section which helps people with do it yourself divorces.
No, in NC they actually need a real divorce filed by a judge to be divorced. There is no presumption that after some period of time that a divorce is just assumed. Divorce is never presumed and must be documented through the court.
Divorce is relatively cheap - only $500 - $600 in most firms, so if you want it done right the first time, you may want to hire an attorney. Thank you.
Janet L. Fritts
Attorney with Rosen Divorce
4101 Lake Boone Trail, Suite 500
Raleigh, North Carolina 27607
919.787.6668 main phone
919.256.1665 direct fax
10925 David Taylor Drive, Suite 100
Charlotte, North Carolina 28262
704.644.2831 main voice
704.307.4595 main fax
The response posted above is based upon the limited factual information made available and is not intended as a full and complete response to the question. The only reliable manner to obtain complete and adequate legal advice is to consult with an attorney, fully explain your situation, and allow the attorney sufficient opportunity to research the applicable law and facts required to render an accurate opinion. The basic information provided above is intended as a public service but a full discussion with an attorney should be undertaken before taking any action.