Questions regarding Alimony and Child Support

Hello, and first thanks for any assistance that can be provided.

I have been living in an unhappy marriage for several years and it has now gotten to the point that I need to get out for my own emotional well-being, as well as for my kids (as I don’t want them growing up in a house filled with stress, anger, etc…)

I have used both the Alimony and Child Support calculators on this site and the amounts returned were shocking, and showed me that I would not be able to afford Alimony, Child Support and just a 1 bedroom apartment in the Charlotte area.

Basic information:

[ul]We live in the Charlotte, NC area.
I work and annual gross income is approx. $115k/yr.
Health/Dental/Vision insurance is provided through my work at approx. $180/month.
My wife does not work, and has not worked since 2005.
I do not have any education past high school. (I am completely self-taught / on-the-job training)
My wife has a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science.
We have 2 kids, 9 and 2.
We will have been married 9 years this spring.
My wife was recently diagnosed with epilepsy (which has nothing do to with the reason for divorce). It is currently controlled by medication.[/ul]

Based on the Child Support Calculator on this site, the recommended Child Support Payment I would have to make is $1,150/month. That is with both of us having 182 days/year with the kids.

Based on the Alimony Calculator on this site, Alimony payments could range anywhere from $1,700 at the low end, to $4,250 at the high end, with the overall average being $2,700.

With that said, taking a Child Support payment of $1,150 plus the average Alimony payment of $2,700, it would end up costing me approx. $3,850/month if I were to get divorced.

After taxes, 401K contributions, Employee Stock Purchase Plan contributions and health insurance and taken out, my final paycheck comes to approx. $2,150 every 2 weeks.