Back cs - father illegally lowered cs

I guess my question would be why you didn’t address this sooner? Talk to your DSS office of child support.

If it was court ordered, then you should still have grounds to enforce the arrears. He doesn’t stop owing just because the child came of age. Remember anything court ordered can and must be enforced.

I didn’t do anything sooner because I had hoped that he would do the right thing and did not want him to force me to go to court over this. No, it was not court ordered; he voluntarily agreed to pay an amount that was somewhat higher than required by law. He made (and still makes) four times more than I do (he is a pilot and I am a 9th grade English teacher).

I have gone into debt paying off college and automobile expenses that he had agreed to pay (which were to be separate from child support).

I called the divorce lawyer that I used but he is out of town for a week. He will call when he returns.

Now I found out that the ****** claimed the children as dependents on his 2004 taxes (and probably other years as well), which caused IRS to send me a packet denying my status as head of household. I had to send pages and pages of documentation to prove that I am the custodial parent or pay $3,000 in back taxes.

He was told that he could not claim them unless I signed over that right to him. Did I do that? NO!!! Now we are both dealing with IRS over his stupidity and greed.

Are they just now figuring that out for 2004 taxes? I am going through that with 2005. Does this mean it will be another year before they make him pay it back?

I don’t know if he did the same thing in other years or not. This just surfaced recently. He texted me today that he was sorry about the confusion and would “help” me pay any back taxes. I texted back that I did not owe any taxes and that he better check the rules again because he just messed up in a big way.