Child Support for Disabled Adult Children


#1

Can child support in North Carolina for a disabled child who is 26 be terminated? The child support order is over 20 years old. Does NC law require child support continue past the age of 21 for disabled adult children? If not, what is the process to have the court-ordered child support terminate?


#2

Yes, a child support order for a disabled child who is now 26 can be terminated.

NC law states that child support ends upon age 18 and graduation from high school, when the child fails to attend school or make satisfactory academic progress towards high school graduation, or when the child reaches age 20, whichever comes first. There are no laws requiring child support for disabled children to continue for longer.

Court ordered child support terminates by way of a motion giving notice to the parent receiving the support but does not require a court order if the child has reached the age of 20.


Anna Ayscue

Attorney with Rosen Law Firm Cary • Chapel Hill • Durham • Raleigh

Rosen Online | Unlimited confidential access to a North Carolina attorney for $199/mo - click here

The response posted above is based upon the limited factual information made available and is not intended as a full and complete response to the question. The only reliable manner to obtain complete and adequate legal advice is to consult with an attorney, fully explain your situation, and allow the attorney sufficient opportunity to research the applicable law and facts required to render an accurate opinion. The basic information provided above is intended as a public service only, a full discussion with an attorney should be undertaken before taking any action. The information posted on this forum is available for public viewing and is not intended to create an attorney client relationship with any individual. These answers are provided for informational purposes only, a person should consult with their own individual legal counsel before taking any action that could affect their legal rights or obligations.


#3

Thank you. May I hire you to file the motion?


#4

Contact our office at (919) 787-6668.


Anna Ayscue

Attorney with Rosen Law Firm Cary • Chapel Hill • Durham • Raleigh

Rosen Online | Unlimited confidential access to a North Carolina attorney for $199/mo - click here

The response posted above is based upon the limited factual information made available and is not intended as a full and complete response to the question. The only reliable manner to obtain complete and adequate legal advice is to consult with an attorney, fully explain your situation, and allow the attorney sufficient opportunity to research the applicable law and facts required to render an accurate opinion. The basic information provided above is intended as a public service only, a full discussion with an attorney should be undertaken before taking any action. The information posted on this forum is available for public viewing and is not intended to create an attorney client relationship with any individual. These answers are provided for informational purposes only, a person should consult with their own individual legal counsel before taking any action that could affect their legal rights or obligations.