Dear sarah m:
Greetings. Let’s answer these questions:
Yes. I think that the North Carolina Child Support Enforcement is either free or very low cost. If you hire an attorney, it will cost more. Did you do your divorce on a fixed fee rate with an attorney or did you pay hourly? Also, did that include going to court?
With just the NC Child Support Enforcement Agency, I think that the fee is about $25.00 or slightly more. With an attorney it will likely be a couple of thousand, especially if you have income imputed to you.
Yes, he can request visitation, although I would hope that would not be to use the child as a pawn. All children are under the jurisdiction of the court until they are 18 years of age, unless they are emancipated sooner. Of course you can ask a judge to hear from the child, although that may not be in the child’s best interest, but the judge may decline. Best of luck.
Janet L. Fritts
Attorney with Rosen Divorce
4101 Lake Boone Trail, Suite 500
Raleigh, North Carolina 27607
The response posted above is based upon the limited factual information made available and is not intended as a full and complete response to the question. The only reliable manner to obtain complete and adequate legal advice is to consult with an attorney, fully explain your situation, and allow the attorney sufficient opportunity to research the applicable law and facts required to render an accurate opinion. The basic information provided above is intended as a public service but a full discussion with an attorney should be undertaken before taking any action.