Wife pay alimony for younger husband who refuses to work?

My husband and I have been married for almost eight years. I am the primary breadwinner. He is ten years younger and has a Duke engineering degree. He does not work and refuses to. He says that taking care of the kids is his job, even though my work is completely flexible and allows me to say home mostly (I am a professor). We have five kids, all under six years old.

If I file for a divorce, will I be obligated to pay alimony? I’ve been trying to get him to work all of this time. Also, what about child custody. I want sole custody of the children, how likely is that? And, can I move to a different state?

dr p
B very careful and b sure 2 document all U do related 2 being the primary care giver b4 separating, have a few months documented prior 2 separation. I have struggled with wife who fit same mold. I was advised 2 relocate prior 2 separating, it has proven very difficult post separation. Alimony not an issue, wife’s infidelity barred her from receiving it.
good luck

[quote=“dr. p.”]My husband and I have been married for almost eight years. I am the primary breadwinner. He is ten years younger and has a Duke engineering degree. He does not work and refuses to. He says that taking care of the kids is his job, even though my work is completely flexible and allows me to say home mostly (I am a professor). We have five kids, all under six years old.

If I file for a divorce, will I be obligated to pay alimony? I’ve been trying to get him to work all of this time. Also, what about child custody. I want sole custody of the children, how likely is that? And, can I move to a different state?[/quote]

I think you sound very self centered. Moving kids out of state and away from from a father who is active in their life is extremely unfair to the kids. It sounds like you are trying to punish him.