Wife wants Our child to have zero contact with her family

Wife’s emotional abuse over the years made me file for divorce. My in laws have been supportive and helpful of me which infuriated my wife so much so that she cut them off. In the custody agreement, she wants to include that our child have zero contact with her family because she doesn’t like them anymore. I’m thinking of my son and feel it’s unfair for him to not have a relationship with his mom’s family. I’m a permanent resident here and know no one nor do I have family here. Any advice for how to navigate this? Is best option for wife’s family to sue to be able to see our toddler? FYI, my wife is bipolar and had borderline personality disorder as well. We’re scheduled to go before Judge Rutledge in Wake county.

It would not be typical to include a provision in a custody order that the minor child have no contact with grandparents unless there was a serious safety concern regarding the grandparents.

Usually judges tend to believe that it is beneficial for a minor child to have a relationship with grandparents and other extended family, again, absent any serious safety concerns.

It is also possible for your wife’s parents’ to file as an intervenor in your custody action, which means they are seeking the court’s permission to be included as a party in your custody case and attempt to seek court ordered visitation time.

Otherwise, you will want to present evidence as to why your child’s maternal grandparents are important and beneficial to be included in your child’s life and why banning them from your child’s life would not be in your child’s best interest.

Anna Ayscue

Attorney with Rosen Law Firm Cary • Chapel Hill • Durham • Raleigh • Wake Forest

Rosen Online | Unlimited confidential access to a North Carolina attorney for $199/mo - click here