Fighting a false allegation of domestic violence

I will try to be as brief as possible, Last year, June 2013 I was falsely accused of domestic violence, had one Lawyer but I still got the short straw. My wife lied in the stand, fabricated one piece of alleged evidence, being a 4"x4" (Internet) picture of a bruise used the standard “I am afraid of him” and some tears.

As such I have a restraining order against me until August sometime. After the hearing her then lawyer and mine talked and I was allowed to have our children (3) to stay every other weekend with me. CPS/DHHR/DSS (Union county, north Carolina) were not involved, which until this day I wonder about since she told the court I was a threat to her and our 3 children.
I am a permanent resident (wanting to become Citizen before all this happened and still am) and have lived here for over 13 years and have a still a hard time with this all.
It keeps on nagging me, the question, can this still be fought?

I have not been a threat to her or my children at any time and the whole things started merely because one night I put our youngest back in her bed, which the wife did not like and she became very upset (understatement). We argued and at a point I left because she had pushed me, kept arguing and at I point I felt no longer safe in the same room with her. I locked myself up in our bedroom to keep her away from me. She was acting all strange and crazy. She even tried to force her way into our bedroom, I had the door locked and needed to use a stepstool ladder to put it under the door knob to prevent her from coming in that night. I was scared and had no idea what just happened. (some co-workers and friends told me later I should have called 911 , but I was numb)