Legal Question - STBX not allowing visitation

My understanding is that if no agreement has been signed and there is no custody order, then both parents have equal access to the children. Not allowing visitation , IMO, is a control issue/leverage tool.

Once again…using kids as a pawn. [V] What good reason would one parent have for NOT allowing a parent to see their children (aside from abuse, drug or alchohol addiction…) other than selfishness or ignorance of the law? I don’t understand his lawyers unresponsiveness. I guess there could be several legit reasons for that.

His lawyer is one of the best in the county he lives in and is usually always in court/with a client. I have had plenty of experience with litigators and corporte attorneys, and I know they were always busy as well. So I can understand at least a little part of that. I also think there is a disconnect because of her secretary, but that is another issue.

The STBX is trying to get more money out of him. He currently pays ALL HER BILLS and gives her food and gas money. This amount totals about 4500-5000 a moth.

There are some who never have a separation agreement signed. The custody is equal until it is decided by agreement or court order and neither can legally keep the child away from the other. If she is doing that, he should take action. Keep records of all attempts and refusals. Contact the attorney again. If necessary, go to the office and sit until she comes out…let them know that since he’s gotten no response he’s not getting to see his child. The attorney should be able to write a letter to the stbx stating that this action of prohibiting visitation is not legal. If he is paying everything for her as it is, then he should not feel the victim in all this. She’s dependant on him and he needs to make sure he keeps good records of all this.