New Relationship/Criminal Record

I am separated and am in a relationship with a man who was convicted on Felony drug charges 15 years ago. He was let out early with a pardon from Obama. He has been out for almost a year, still on probation. Has not failed a drug test, no marks against him, no involvement with drugs, has published two books, and works. My soon to be ex husband is threatening to take me to court for emergency custody and says I am a danger to my child. This is after he told me it was ok, and he would not interfere or take me to court unless given reason. I am a registered nurse, and was the primary care taker of our child until we separated. We agreed outside court on a 50/50 every other week custody agreement. Can he take my child away from me for this?

It’s not likely your ex-husband would be successful based on the information you provided.

Emergency custody (ex parte custody) is granted if there is a substantial risk of bodily injury or sexual abuse to the minor child or there is a substantial risk that the minor child will be removed from the State of NC for the purpose of evading the jurisdiction of NC courts. From what you’ve provided, it does not sound like your ex-husband could prove any of these grounds and therefore, would likely not be successful in an emergency ex parte custody motion.

Having a felony conviction from 15 years ago does not, by itself, mean that the children are unsafe, and the conviction could generally be irrelevant given the amount of time that has passed and the rehabilitation that your boyfriend has been through.

Anna Ayscue

Attorney with Rosen Law Firm Cary • Chapel Hill • Durham • Raleigh • Wake Forest

Rosen Online | Unlimited confidential access to a North Carolina attorney for $199/mo - click here