Termination of Parental Rights

I am a little confused. Are you a biological parent of the child? Are you sharing custody? Paying child support? Utilizing visitations? Without knowing the circumstances, to my knowledge, parental rights can be taken away by the courts and signed away by the parent. I believe that a parent who has no contact or gives any support for a child can be petitioned through the court by the other parent to agree to terminate but I’m not a lawyer. Search through the forums here for Parental Rights termination.

Sorry to be confusing, I

You dont pay child support, and havent seen you children in a year??? There are so many fathers out there that are much more than 4 hrs away and stay an active part of their childrens lives. Children NEED both parents!!Regardless of how hard it is to get along with her you should have never let it get this far to begin with…these are your children !!! Never once in your first post did I see …How can I stop this from being done?? You thought it was more important to ask “Exactly what would it mean if she goes through with this?” and “I just want this to end” Well, I am sure you will be happy to hear that if this goes through your responsibilities and financial obligations as a parent will be terminated forever. If that is what you want, then no, you dont even need to show up in court.

But I will also tell you, that it is VERY hard for any parent to terminate another parents rights if that parent wants to be in his/her childrens lives. I COULD NOT imagine going over a year without contact with my children just the thought puts my stomach in knots. As I said before CHILDREN NEED BOTH PARENTS, and it is not too late, but if you continue to neglect the children it will be!!!

It